CHUV
Les activités du CHUV
FR-   EN   
MENU
Department of Clinical Neuroscience

By bringing together the neurosurgery, neurology, and neuropsychology and rehabilitation teams, our department offers an integrated and personalised treatment that meets the needs of each patient. Together, these teams devise the best possible treatment  and management plans.

Bandeau
Home > Patients and families
Our staff

Patients and families

Clinical neuroscience covers all diseases that affect the brain, the spinal cord, the nerves and the muscles. It combines the knowledge and techniques of neurosurgery, neurology, neuropsychology and rehabilitation to treat the causes and consequences of trauma or illness.
 

The Department of Clinical Neuroscience is on two sites: the main hospital building of the CHUV, which contains the Services of Neurology and Neurosurgery, and the Nestlé Hospital, which hosts the Service of Neuropsychology and Neurorehabilitation.
 

                                                                       

STATE-OF-THE-ART TECHNICAL EQUIPMENT


The services of our Department are equipped with state-of-the-art equipment providing treatments of unprecedented accuracy.

For example, the Service of Neurosurgery uses a piece of technology known as a Gamma Knife, which allows parts of the brain to be treated by Gamma rays in the same manner as a scalpel (hence the name Gamma Knife), without opening the skull. Composed of 192 bundles which come from sources of cobalt, the Gamma Knife administers a strong dose of radiation to the tumour(s) to be treated with extreme precision and requires only one session.

CHUV
Les activités du CHUV
   FR   -EN
MENU
Département
des neurosciences cliniques

En réunissant les équipes de neurochirurgie, de neurologie, de neuropsychologie et réhabilitation, notre département offre une prise en charge intégrée et personnalisée, qui correspond aux besoins de chaque patient. Les équipes envisagent ensemble le meilleur traitement possible.

Bandeau
Accueil > Patients et familles
Nos collaborateurs

Aspects pratiques au CHUV

Patients et familles

Les neurosciences cliniques couvrent l'ensemble des maladies affectant le cerveau, la moelle épinière, les nerfs et les muscles. Elles combinent les connaissances et les techniques de la neurochirurgie, de la neurologie, de la neuropsychologie et de la réhabilitation pour soigner les causes et les conséquences des troubles ou des traumatismes subis par les patient-e-s.

Notre département est organisé sur deux sites: le bâtiment hospitalier principal du CHUV, qui accueille la neurologie et la neurochirurgie, et l'Hôpital Nestlé, qui accueille la neuropsychologie et la neuroréhabilitation.

                                                                       


Les moyens techniques les plus modernes

Les services de notre département disposent d’un équipement de pointe qui permet des traitements d’une précision jamais atteinte.

Le Gamma Knife, par exemple, dont est doté le Service de neurochirurgie, permet de traiter des régions du cerveau à l’aide de rayons Gamma comme le ferait un bistouri (d’où l’appellation «Couteau Gamma»), mais sans devoir ouvrir le crâne. Composé de 192 faisceaux provenant de sources de cobalt, l’appareil Gamma Knife permet d’administrer, avec une extrême précision, une forte dose de radiation en une seule séance, sur la ou les lésions à traiter.